“Man cannot live by bread alone; he must have peanut butter.”

The Coffee: A feel as though a large aspect of my life is an analogy to peanut butter. My job, my friends, my hobbies; often I feel as though they are all stuck together in one way or another.

It is difficult to find time for all your commitments when they are essentially from completely different jars. One thing that I try to remember is that you should always find time for each commitment, and if you can’t, then you probably shouldn’t call yourself a part of the group at all.

I feel half heartedly committed to the vast area of social media tools I subscribe to. This article from BBC suggests a thought I pondered for some time now. Are social networks making us less human? I agree that tools such as Facebook can help you interact with international friends, but it’s ridiculous that my two roommates were Facebook chatting one another last night while sitting on the same couch.

Keep in mind that staying with the times doesn’t mean you can’t put away your cell phone during dinner perhaps with family or close friends.

The Cream and Sugar: This amazing book I heard about that I think I need, but probably don’t. Good to the Grain: Baking with Whole Grain Flours.

Recently, my mother and I are obsessed with cooking with wheat flour when I am home for a few days here and there…such as whole wheat grilled pizza or whole wheat cinnamon swirl bread. While my interning/college lifestyle doesn’t allow me to even remotely be able to afford these recipes, it is nice to dream. Right?

 

Leave a comment

Filed under January 2011

Leave a Reply

